Life Work

It’s the 5th of July, and thus Summer has arrived in the Pacific Northwest. Sunscreen, check. Shorts, check. Walk around Greenlake, check. Amazing what the solar power fuels. What the sun lacks in electricity generation (just not enough of it) it makes up in human energy. People smile more, seem more optimistic, even the tenor of conversation  shifts to more planning and anticipation for what’s possible when the world is illuminated and warm.

Assuming a vitamin D fueled perspective, I’ve been thinking a lot about the concept of work. I’ve been banned from spending time thinking about what work is next, and what has replaced that in these early days is the volume of what I’m calling life work.

This life work seems to be creeping from the baseboards, it’s absolutely surrounding me. Its as if in the vacuum of professional work, I’ve found this entire world of things that either I have completely ignored or just been blind to. Things like the deep emotional dynamics of teen agers (ok, I knew about that, but I’m just scratching the surface of the role I need to play in our children’s dance with independence). Or how messy and cluttered my house really is. Or finding the time to do that walk around Greenlake. 

So, it looks like I’ll spend some time learning about life work. I’m curious. And if I’m honest, there’s a small voice in my head wondering once I’ve explored the expanse of life work, and have learned the craggy hills, deep lakes, and the plains of this world, and once my eyes are really open, what will 1 (work life) + 1 (life work) equal?

Leave a Reply

